Skip to content ↓
The Bishop of Winchester Academy

The Bishop
of Winchester

Courses and Application

A diverse curriculum tailored to individual student needs.

The Academy offers a variety of academic and vocational courses, predominantly Level 3.  You can choose to study A Levels, BTECs or a combination of these qualifications which demonstrate the breadth of skills that are increasingly required by the world of work and higher education.

A Levels

At TBOWA 6th Form you will study 3 A Levels (or equivalent) coupled with our comprehensive pastoral support package. It may be possible for a student to complete an additional A Level in a chosen subject.


Vocational Level 3 courses include the BTEC Extended Certificate (equivalent to 1 A Level), BTEC National Diploma (equivalent to 2 A Levels) and the BTEC Extended Diploma (equivalent to 3 A Levels).  Typically vocational qualifications are more coursework based and take up more than one Option Block if they are a double or triple award. 

Entry Requirements

For all advanced level (Level 3) courses such as GCE A levels and BTEC Level 3, the entry requirement will be 5 GCSEs at grade 4 or above (including Maths and English).  For most subjects  a GCSE grade 9—6 is required in the chosen or related subject or a merit at a BTEC Level 2.  Individual courses may have additional specific entry criteria. Please see individual courses for more information.

Applying for a place in the 6th Form

To apply for a place at TBOWA 6th Form, please complete and return the application form below.

  • University of Bournemouth
  • Arts University
  • Duke of Edinburgh
  • Diocese of Winchester
  • Teach First
  • University of Exeter
  • The University of Winchester
  • Ambitions
  • Southampton University
  • Bath Spa University